Tips & tricks

Go to recent tab in Chrome

For a long time I have been searching for such feature in Chrome, but I could not find anything default. And it was difficult to understand, as it is so obvious for a developer. Windows has it (Alt + Tab), Resharper has it (Ctrl + ,), visual studio without plugins has it, same to Sublime Text, vim etc. But not Chrome, a default development tool for most of web developers. At the same time there are extensions, but most of them work far from what I expect. Below I would like to share what useful I have found. Both are fine, but for sure not flawless.

Ctrl + Tab MRU

ctrltabmru

This is the one I like the most. I have it bound to Ctrl + comma. That means that a combination Ctrl + comma, comma take me to the second recently used tab. It’s obvious, but actually this is the first extension I have found, that supports it.

The bad? Several times it had problems to render the list correctly. On the other hand I tried to reproduce it while writing this blog post and I couldn’t.

Quick Tabs

quicktabs

This one is more advanced, as it allows to search in usage history, recently closed and bookmarks. Unfortunately Ctrl + comma, comma, comma does not work as expected (but still it’s worth to have because of searching functionality).

What about you?

Do you have your own solution for that? I would really like to know if there is something better or at least if there is another useful alternative.

One thought on “Go to recent tab in Chrome

Leave a Reply

